View Only

TLMI announces new Additions to Label Awards Judging Panel and Inaugural Awards Portfolio Book

By TLMI posted 04-10-2019 11:33


April 3, 2019 (Milford, OH): TLMI announces that five new industry members have joined the association’s Judging Panel for the TLMI Annual Label Awards Competition. The five new judges join an existing nine-member panel representing companies across industry supplier categories. The association’s Annual Awards Competition recognizes achievement in all areas of the narrow web industry including tags and labels, cartons, flexible packaging and non-wovens across conventional and digitally printed applications.

Winning entries are displayed and the Awards are announced at the TLMI Annual Meeting held every October. Dan Muenzer, TLMI President, comments, “These recent changes to the Annual Awards Judging Panel is a critical step forward for TLMI. Panel Chair Paul Teachout of NilPeter has done an outstanding job of directing the group’s efforts over the years and he has assembled a collective of existing and new judges who truly represent our vast and dynamic industry including material suppliers, conventional press suppliers, digital press suppliers, ink and coatings suppliers, print embellishment technology companies and prepress system suppliers. Also, and for the first time, the panel includes representatives from two different collegiate educational programs. New panel member Gary Walton of Cincinnati State will join existing member Chip Tonkin from Clemson and I’m excited to have both of these esteemed and prestigious collegiate print programs represented.”

In the coming weeks, TLMI will also publish the association’s inaugural Awards Portfolio Book. The Awards Book lists all converter and supplier member winners from last year including Eugene Singer Award winners, TLMI Annual Label Awards winners, World Label Awards winners, Converter of the Year, Supplier of the Year, and the association’s Environmental Awards Winners. Muenzer continues, “We’re thrilled to be publishing a single resource for all of the award winners for last year. TLMI has a comprehensive and prestigious set of awards offerings and we wanted to bring all of our winners together in one collective that all TLMI member companies will receive. And this book isn’t just about the awards, it’s a portfolio that celebrates who we are – an association of industry members who are constantly learning from one another and inspiring each other to be the best versions of ourselves possible.”

TLMI’s 2019 Judging Panel Members:

-Paul Teachout, Nilpeter – TLMI Judging Panel Chair

-Mike Buystedt, Flint – Judging Mediator


New Judges for 2019:

-Gary Walton, Cincinnati State, (Educator)

- Mathew Condon, Domino

- Catherine Haynes, APR

- Lisa Muennich, Avery Dennison

-Johnny Stamey, Daetwyler


Existing Judges continuing in 2019:

-Chip Tonkin, Clemson (Educator)

-Mark Barnard, K Laser

- Richard Black, Techkon

-Andre Blais, Gallus

-Jim Harris, ACTEGA

-Steve Schulte, Mark Andy

-Kent Wolford, Xeikon

-Rob Wray, HP